Marri dining room table

On a recent trip back to the UK I visited my old boss Philip Bastow who fortunately persevered  with me all those years ago and got me through my 5 year apprenticeship!! It was great to catch up with him and to receive some invaluable advice from someone who is celebrating his 30th year in business(http://www.philipbastow-cabinetmaker.co.uk/). I did have another reason to pay him a visit though. I’d always admired that a lot of the furniture we created there was shaped with hand tools, not just because Phil is a pure traditionalist, but because the designs he came up with couldn’t be created by using a machine or router cutter. One such design is for a table and chair leg shape which Phil is kindly allowing me to recreate. When you look at the photo’s I’m sure you’ll agree that it’s hard to believe that this design is now 25 years old..

Leave a Reply

